Baked Cheesy Tomatoes

Meal Plan

Add subtitle text (2)

 

This recipe is incredible easy and can be altered to catered to preferences.  I’ll even include some of my changes I have made over the many times I have made this dish.

Ingredients

2 Tomatoes

4 Slices of bread (I have also used two slices of Italian bread broken in half)

Shredded Parmesan Cheese

Oregano

Salt

Pepper

Cooking Oil

 

Directions

1.) Slice Tomatoes and lay them out on a baking sheet

 

DSCF5096

 

2.) Sprinkle on salt, pepper, oregano (to taste), add cheese (as much or little as you want) and drizzle with oil (I often leave this off)

  • I substituted Parmesan cheese with Mozzarella cheese
  • I have also used Italian seasoning instead of oregano (i think I like this better)

 

DSCF5094

 

3.) Bake at 425 degree Farenheit for 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted somewhat like this….

 

 

DSCF5100

 

4.) Toast bread and add tomatoes to bread.  A piece of Italian bread can hold one tomato per half (so you may need 4 slices of bread to have toast for each slice of baked tomato).  Regular bread can hold two slices of tomato per slice of toast.

In the end you have something like this….

 

DSCF5103

 

It’s healthy, it’s tasty and I would encourage any of you to try it.

If you do please come back and share your variation with me.  I’d love to try some new versions of this basic dish.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 501 other followers

What Has Been

