Learning to Wait

Bible Thought Thursday

 

How long, O LORD- Will you forget me

 

I almost giggled at this verse. It seems melodramatic. it sounds like my preschoolers in the midst of a tantrum.

 

I’m going to my room and I’m not coming out FOREVER!

 

And yet, this was David, a man after God’s own heart, and here he was, like a child demanding what he wanted from God – Now!

How often do we as adults find it difficult to wait on things – the cashier at the market, your child getting dressed on a busy morning, a red light at an intersection.  We live in a world of instant gratification and we expect God to work the same way.

We ask, he gives, life is good. But we see the now, and he sees the full picture. And yet, we feel as though we have been forgotten, unloved, when he does not give into our desires the instant we express them.

Patience is not an easy thing to learn.  Not with traffic, in lines, with (or for) our children, or even with God.

God’s plans are so much greater than our desires. And when we trust in his goodness and love and wait on him, we will see the blessings of God.  Maybe not in the way we desire, but so much more than we could have ever imagined.

That is the thing, what we thin we need now, God knows if we get it we will miss something greater later on.  He shows us great love in not giving into our demands, but holding out for what is best for us.

 

 

But I trust in your unfailing

 

 

 

Lord;

I thank you that you do not give me all I desire, but you do give me all that I need. I will trust in your providence – take hope in your mercy – and find peace in your unfailing love.

~ Amen

 

 

Have you ever experienced God’s love in his silence?

 

Please share by leaving a comment

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 503 other followers

What Has Been

