M2C — Determination!

For the past two weeks I have been participating in Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study.

Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies

This study is on Lysa Terkeurst’s book Made to Crave

Each week we are given a word and a verse that personifies the week.

This week’s word was

Determination

I kept trying to think, does this word really mean anything to me?  If I had determination would i be in this weight loss struggle? Would I even be in this Bible Study?

I pondered this as I colored my “determination” poster that I had accidentally printed in black and white.

Then I thought,

What does it mean?

According to dictionary.com

Determination

* the act of coming to a decision or of fixing or settling on something

I had an epiphany. Determination is not a quality someone possesses, it is a choice a person makes.

A dear friend of mine, who I have known for twenty-five years (wow! that makes me feel old – love ya Pj) is going through the same struggle that I am.

Today a coworker brought doughnuts to the office.

She put this sign outside of her office:

Click picture to visit Pj’s Instagram

She determined  that she would not break her diet, she made a plan, and she determined to follow through with her plan.

I love it!

I belong to a website called

If you join tell them rhiannon0207  sent you!

Sparkpeople is a free online diet and fitness plan that offers a variety of diet plans to fit your individual needs as well as a community or support and resources for various health and fitness issues.

One feature they have is something called “Streaks”.  A streak measures how long you keep with a short term goal.  You set a goal like “I will work out 10 minutes a day for the next 30 days”  each day you long if you did your work out and it will track your streak.  If you miss a day your streak resets.  If you want to see that number climb you need to keep with it.  You need to chose to not miss a day.

Determination is not a characteristic it is a choice

a choice to change

a choice to persevere

a choice to put God before all else

Let’s determine today that God is first!

Let’s determine today that food is fuel!

God gives life – Food helps us live that life!

Determination - It's a Choice!

Determination – It’s a Choice!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandi Brewer~~OBS Small Group Leader
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:52:41

    I love this–and I’m so glad you looked up the definition of determination. I had been thinking of it much the same way you had and I loved how the definition changed my perspective. It IS a choice–not something you have to be born with. Today I am DETERMINED 🙂

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 22:09:12

      I felt my resolve was stronger today. I felt better for resisting the temptation today. It’s my choice and therefore my responsibility. I wasn’t being rude to someone who brought something in to share, I was being good to myself.

      Reply

  2. Sherrie
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 15:38:06

    Stopping by from the P31 Blog Hop! This is all so true! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    I’m also on Sparkpeople, I’m going over to friend you now! Have a great week and stay determined 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 502 other followers

What Has Been

