M2C – 1 Peter 5:7-8

This is Made to Crave online Bible study verse of the week for week 2

Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies

I read and reread the verse.  It’s powerful as it was but I felt as though something was missing and continued to read on.

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

~1 Peter 5:7-9

 

As always I looked it up in other translations:

God cares for you, so turn all your worries over to him. Be on you guard and stay awake (CEV)

Casting all your cares on Him, because he cares for you. Be of sober spirit, be on the alert (NASB)

Then I came to the Amplified Bible

Casting the whole of your care [all you anxiety, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares for you watchfully [Ps55:22]. Be well balanced [temperate, sober of mind], be vigilant and cautious at all time for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring [in fierce hunger] seeking someone to seize upon and devour. Withstand him, be firm in the faith against his onset – rooted, established, strong, immovable, determined] knowing that the same (identical) sufferings are appointed to your brotherhood (the whole body of Christians) throughout the world.

I needed to go further so returning to my friend dictionary.com and looked up a few key words

Cast

  1. to throw, hurt, or fling
  2. to throw off or away
  3. to cause to fall upon something or in a certain direction

Cast your anxieties on him”

Do we hurt God with our “anxieties”? No, in fact definitions 2 & 3 are much better.  He wants us to throw them off, to be unburdened by them.  We are to let them fall to him.

Anxiety

  1. distress, uneasiness of mind caused by fear, danger or misgivings
  2. earnest but tense desire, eagerness

 

This gave me pause – look at the words that describe “anxiety” 

He wants the good WITH the bad.  Yes, we turn to him in fear and worry and let him take the burden, but we also need to turn to him with our desires and have faith that He will do in us what we can not do in ourselves.

Alert

  1. fully aware and attentive, wide awake
  2. an attitude of vigilance, readiness, or caution

We are to be vigilant, ready, acting in caution… for what? For the enemy, the temptations that plague us and threaten to destroy what we are working towards.

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail

This was drilled into me as I studied to become a teacher, so much so that I’m a little obsessive about my lesson plans. But it’s the same with weight loss and the first part of our plan needs to be drawing closer to God and casting all our anxieties on Him.

Sober

  1. Quiet or sedate in demeanor
  2. free from exaggeration or speculation
    • Syn – serious, quiet, sedate, composed, collected, reasonable, sound

Sound

  1. free from injury, damage, defect, or disease
  2. in good condition, healthy, strong, robust
  3. competent, sensible
  4. having no defect as to truth, justice, wisdom, or reason

Sobriety is not just for alcoholics, it is the manner in which we conduct ourselves.  Are we free from exaggeration? Are we quiet and sedate? Are we composed, collected, and reasonable?

I’m a mother of a precocious four year old and active seven month old. Composed is not always a characteristic of my demeanor.  When I’ve spent the day cleaning only to find a booger on my daughter’s bedroom wall and my daughter is crying, “mommy don’t wash it off! It’s my pet ‘Fish Lips'”.  I don’t know if I should laugh, cry or give up entirely.

When i burn dinner because my son pooped while in his jumper and I forget about the food on the stove while I try to clean up the mess my son has created.  I am not calm or quiet.

If anyone throws up (ooh i can’t handle vomit); I am anything but “composed”.

But God wants this calmness in our lives and when we cast our cares on him this sober mind is what we get in return; it’s that sense of peace in the midst of a chaotic life that only God can give.

 

Lord,

Help me to throw all my concerns, fears, and desires to you. Help me to be vigilant of the things that tempt me and cautious of the one who tempts us.  Grand me your peace in this chaotic life so that I may have wisdom and reasonable judgement in my health, my relationships, and in all I do and say.

Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 503 other followers

What Has Been

