M2C Blog Hop — Psalm 84:2

 

It always amazes me when the same verse keeps popping up over and over again.

I first received this verse on Sunday, January 19th, with the start of the Made to Crave Online Bible Study, and was dealt it again at my Wednesday night Women’s Bible Study through my church.

I had trouble deciding what I would write for the blog hope until last night, God showed me that I need to open my eyes and see what is in this verse He keeps throwing in front of me.

First thing I did was to look it up in two other translations;

New King James

My soul longs, yes, even faints
For the courts of the Lord;
My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.

and

Contemporary English Version

Deep in my heart I long
for your temple,
and with all that I am
I sing joyful songs to you.

This is as far as I got before my Wednesday Bible Study, I hadn’t even analyzed the differences, and then the verse came up again in our monthly missions moment discussion.  We talked about “action words” found in the scripture.

 

My soul yearns, even faints,
for the courts of the Lord;
my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.

 

Yearns 

1. to have an earnest or strong desire

2. to feel tenderness, be moved or attracted.

Synonyms: long, hanker, pine

 

I read this and it makes me wonder is this my heart? Do I really have a strong desire and attraction for the courts of my Lord or am I going through the motions?  Do I feel tenderness for the presence of God or do I turn away from it?

Yes, Lord, walking in the way of your laws,
    we wait for you;
your name and renown
    are the desire of our hearts.
My soul yearns for you in the night;
    in the morning my spirit longs for you…

~Isaiah 26:8-9 a~

The next action word is:

Cry out

  1. to utter inarticulate sounds, especially of lamentation, grief, or suffering, usually with tears.
  2. to weep; shed tears, with or without sound.
  3. to call loudly; shout; yell

 

I need this in my life.  I need to have a desire for my God so strong that it causes me to shout, yell or even weep for His presence. And this only comes from God being first in my life.  Above the hustle and bustle of life, above the temptations and vices that plague me.

He must be above all!

This Psalm was written in the first person, I didn’t need to personalize it, but I felt it needed to be my prayer, not just my verse.

 
Heavenly Father;
 
Draw me close to you! Make my soul yearn for your presence.  Make me desire your presence so intensely that I shout and weep for you.
 
~Amen 
 
 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. standingongodspromises
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 13:33:51

    I love how God spoke to you and love even more how you chose to dig in the scripture to see what He was trying to tell you. Excited to be on this journey with you.
    Blessings, Denise C. (OBS Blog Hop Team and Small Group Leader)

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Jan 24, 2014 @ 14:38:46

      Thank you so much visiting my blog and for your encouragement. I love this OBS and am thrilled with the blog hop. Thank you so much for the work you and the rest of OBS team are doing to make this happen!

      Reply

  2. cal5711
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 18:12:33

    Hi Rhiannon,
    I want to thank you for the simplicity of leading me into God’s Word as I venture into the challenge of MTC. I am so deeply encouraged by Psalm 84 v2 and the gifted way in which you unpacked the truth in it. I say AMEN with your prayer too..

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Jan 24, 2014 @ 18:25:05

      Thank you so much for visiting me here! There is so much packed into this verse that I felt I did not do it justice, but I am glad that you were able to get something out of it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 502 other followers

What Has Been

