Where I come from…

I don’t think I will ever like snow again.  I actually use to like it. I’d spend my winters skiing, sledding, and ice skating. Now I don’t like going out in the cold any longer than it takes to get into the car, and I don’t like driving in the snow.  Maybe it’s not so much the snow I dislike but the cold that comes with it.

The problem is, I live in Northwest Pennsylvania, not to far from Lake Erie.  This means lake effect snow. This mean lots of snow and cold weather.

My dislike of snow and cold does not make me dislike where I live.  It does make me wish I could migrate with the birds, but it doesn’t change the beauty of the area I live in.

First of all winter holds it’s own beauty.

My favorite season is fall because of the colors. Pennsylvania just comes alive with vibrant colors.

But spring and summer hold their own special value.

Spring is time for new life.. ie. flower and vegetable gardens go in late spring

There is always something to do, no matter what season

Planting flowers

Apple Picking

Playing in the snow

Playing Soccer

Play with Shadows

 

 

Hiking in the woods

 

Play at the playgrounds

Play with wildlife

 

 

Or enjoy it from a far

 

Many of this stuff you can do just about anywhere, except maybe the snow

What I love the most about where I live is the culture.

It is a farming community with a very large Amish and Mennonite presence.

Amish horse and buggy

Local barn

 

The countryside is beautiful and serene, and I love that I get to drive through it every day to work.  I love that I get to experience such a way of life.  It might not be for everyone, but I love it.  In fact I would love to live on a farm, have a big garden. Grow and can my own food.

But when the quiet gets too much, I’m not so far away that I can’t go visit the best city in Pennsylvania.

Pittsburgh!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 503 other followers

What Has Been

