The Pain of Sin, The Joy of Faith

There is not a person online who has not heard the news.  A&E has suspended Duck Dynasty Patriarch, Phil Robertson for his “anti-gay/racist comments” quoting two blips from a GQ interview.  I have read the GQ article and his comments were taken out of context, even edited for inflammatory memes.

 

Here is the link to the actual article

http://www.gq.com/entertainment/television/201401/duck-dynasty-phil-robertson

 

First of all his remarks on homosexuality were not anti-gay.

“It seems like, to me, a vagina—as a man—would be more desirable than a man’s anus. That’s just me. I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.”

Hmm, nothing there is anti-gay.  He’s saying it doesn’t make sense to him, that to him women have more to offer a man.  Yes he calls it sin.  Just because it feels good doesn’t make it the right thing to do.  And homosexuality is a sin when the act of same gender sex occurs. What else is sin in the Bible?  Stealing, lying, promescuity, thinking about someone who isn’t your spouse in a sexual way,  wishing something someone else has is yours, being rude to your parents (not honoring/respecting them), not listening to the urging of the Holy Spirit, not honoring the sabath, not tithing to the church (tithing isn’t just money, but time, and talents as well).

What else, Phil admits his sins, he admits to being a drunk and drug user before his wife urged him back to church.  He readily admits that as a Christian he still struggles with sin as all people do.  Come on, look at the list above (and it’s not all inclusive), who hasn’t done some of those?  The church isn’t a collect of saints, it’s a collection of sinners leaning of the love of their savior for help and healing.

 

Second, He wasn’t saying life was better for blacks before the civil rights movement

Phil On Growing Up in Pre-Civil-Rights-Era Louisiana
“I never, with my eyes, saw the mistreatment of any black person. Not once. Where we lived was all farmers. The blacks worked for the farmers. I hoed cotton with them. I’m with the blacks, because we’re white trash. We’re going across the field…. They’re singing and happy. I never heard one of them, one black person, say, ‘I tell you what: These doggone white people’—not a word!… Pre-entitlement, pre-welfare, you say: Were they happy? They were godly; they were happy; no one was singing the blues.”

Here is something those of you haven’t ever lived in the south don’t understand… the relationships between whites and blacks is vastly different there than it is here in the north.

In the north we notice skin color, but we think nothing of it.  In the south they notice skin color and they’re polarized.  Many (not all) of the blacks, look at a white person and hate them because white people use to hold their ancestors as slaves.  Many (not all) white people look at a black person and hate them because they see someone they perceive as lazy and wanting to be spoon fed every aspect of their life because of something that happened to their great great great great great grandfather/mother/aunt/cousin ect…  Racial tension has worsened in the south since the Civil Rights movement.  Sadly it is far from Martin Luther King Jr’s dream, black president or not.

What I see Phil commenting on in this quote is that the black people HE WORKED ALONG SIDE, were happier because they clung to their faith instead of what they felt they were owed.

There is a joy you find when faith becomes real to you.  It’s hard to explain this joy, it’s just this deep understanding that everything will be all right no matter the outcome.

I know what he said has hit some hot button issues. Yes I think A&E is shooting itself in the foot because it is driving away it’s greatest cash cow and possibly destroying it’s network, but that is their choice.  They’re worried about offending someone because someone on one of their shows expresses his faith openly and doesn’t hold back his opinions.  HIS OPINIONS.

I don’t understand how one person’s opinion, whether you think it is right or wrong is such a threat, that is unless you think it’s right and don’t want to admit you’re in the wrong?  Unless someone is erroneously quoting the Bible to make their point on a subject I usually just roll my eyes and move on when I read something I don’t agree with.  But then again that’s just me, I don’t get offended when someone disagrees, i don’t even get offended when someone misquotes the Bible, I just feel the need to make sure others reading know what the Bible really says.   I admit I haven’t read the whole thing (some of the prophets are kind of boring and my mind wanders when I try to read those books of the Bible), but I do feel it is important to know what the book my faith is tied to says.  I study my Bible and other texts to make sure I fully understand what it is I believe, and guess what? I’m okay with it if someone doesn’t agree with me.

LGBT community, let me ask you this, why are you so offended that he thinks who you choose to have a relationship with is a sin?  I have had multiple people tell me to my face, even family, that my faith is foolishness, that my time in church is stupid, that I’m stupid for holding so much value in a book.  When they ask me why i waste my time with my faith, do you know what I tell them?  Because it makes up the very core of who I am, and even though I may not follow it perfectly, it’s a work in progress.  My faith gives me joy, my faith gives me a sense of security. My faith makes me feel loved because even though I have never seen God, I have felt his presence in my life, I feel his love even in what I see in the world around me.  I’m not offended by the comments or the questions, unless you experience you do not understand.

In the same way, Phil Robertson is a heterosexual male, so of course homosexuality would not make sense to him, why is that a shock? Why is that offensive? How is that hateful or homophobic?  Why the outrage? It doesn’t change your life how one person feels.  I could see it being offensive if his opinion required you to change who you believe you are, but it doesn’t, no more than one of my family members calling me stupid made me stop being a christian, no more than being called foolish made me stop going to church.

What is really the issue here?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 501 other followers

What Has Been

