We Missed Church Again!

WeekendWanderings

 

 

It’s back to the same issue.  Time management, not getting to what we need to be getting to.

As a family I want dinner on the table at roughly the same time each night, I want my kids to have a consistent bed time, and we need to be making it to church consistently.

We missed church again today!

We missed it again today because by the time I got up and got the kids fed, and Tank changed, and well changed again, and ate my own breakfast it was time to leave and Ewok and I were still not dressed to go, and I still did not have my shower.

It’s my fault.  I slept in too late. I must have forgotten to set my alarm clock.

Missing church is not the only thing my poor time management is causing issues with. I’m not finding time to exercise.  I need it to reduce stress and to be healthy, but It seems the only way it’s going to happen is to sacrafice more sleep.

 

My husband thinks that I can work out after Ewok is in bed and before Tank is ready for his next meal.  But it hasn’t worked the whole past week.  and 8pm is a little late for a workout.

I know what people are thinking “go to bed earlier and get up earlier”.  Issue with that is that with his work schedule and the time he’s at the farm If i don’t stay up late with him, I won’t get any time with my husband.

Can I go to bed at midnight every night and get up at 5am every morning.   Of course If I do that consistently maybe we won’t miss church anymore.  That would be helpful.

Can I function on only 5 hours of sleep a night (less if Tank wakes up in the middle of the night)?

I guess I’ll have to see.

How far can you push the human body before it gives?

Something needs to change, and I’m not sure this is the solution.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ @ Planned in Pencil
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 15:44:33

    You need to go to a church closer to you! You’d have extra time If your church was 5 minutes away and not 20! LOL

    Reply

  2. Ashlie Sochor
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 19:54:10

    You need sleep. It’s better to get enough sleep than trying to run your body on too little. You also can work out after 8. After I had Candace I worked out after she was put to bed so when I was done, I would take a shower and relax before falling asleep.

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Oct 27, 2013 @ 22:20:29

      my first break is normally around 10pm, at least that’s when I might sit down. I’m embarrassed when people come over and the house isn’t clean. I feel like they think i’m lazy, that I can’t even give my family a clean house to live in.

      I don’t know how my grandmother did it. She dusted and swept a lot, but even at that the house was never a mess when I was growing up. Everything had it’s place and it was always there, even with her running a day care from the house. The fact that I work so hard at it, and still don’t keep up with the laundry and the clutter makes me feel like failure. I keep thinking, ‘I need to work harder, if it’s not right, then I’m not doing enough’.

      Reply

  3. Nora
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 12:32:25

    Keep your house in good enough shape to keep you comfortable. Other people definitely understand if it’s not always in perfect shape. I for one, feel like mine has to be spotless constantly, but if I visit someone else with a less than perfectly clean house, I think nothing of it. You have your hands full. I’ve been there. If you don’t manage to make all of your goals, don’t beat yourself up over it. Schedules can be a good thing until they have you so stressed that you have an even harder time keeping up with them…give yourself a little slack! Before you know it, the kids will both be older and more independent, and you won’t even remember what it was like when they were both so little. Hang in there! :))

    Reply

  4. The Simple Italians
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 19:16:53

    Perhaps it would help if you kept track of everything you do for a few days, writing down how much time you spent doing things. Maybe you could see if there are any things you should cut out. For instance, when we had a TV, we used to lament our lack of time. Until we felt the Lord nudging us on that. After being more conscious over how much time it stole from us, we decided to get rid of it. At first, it seemed strange & we were at a loss over what to do. But in time, it just seemed natural, and better!

    I’m not saying you need to throw out the TV, but maybe there are things like this, big or small, that are eating up chunks of your time. If so, getting them under control could help some.

    And I do know for sure that simplifying the home helped me a lot. The more stuff I have, the more there is to keep in order. The less there is, the easier and quicker it is. My rule of thumb is “Have I used this within the last year?” If not, then I figure I don’t need it, and so why should I dedicate time to taking care of it?

    But above all, don’t feel guilty–you’re trying! All the Lord ever asks of us is that we do our best. And he already knows that our best is never enough–that’s why we need his help! And we can do all things in him!

    Reply

  5. Beth McGaughey
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 01:28:53

    I wouldnt worry about “what others think about…”our housekeeping abilities. LOL As long as your kids are fed and happy, oh yes, bathed! You are doing a great job! God knows your heart and He doesn’t expect as much as we think He does of us; that’s just doubt being whispered in our ear by the enemy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 501 other followers

What Has Been

