Choosing Simplicity

BibleThoughtThursday

 

se

Choosing Simplicity: Embracing the Benefits of a Simpler Life

 

This is the title of the Bible Study the Wednesday night women’s Bible study group is doing.  I got my book today.  Last week was my first week there and they were beginning chapter 4.  This means I have some catching up to do.

However, this weeks bible study was cancelled.  Thankfully this gives me time to get caught up.

This is something I need to figure out.  I need to learn how to live more simply. I need to learn how to declutter and destress. I need to be smart about my health and work towards living an all around healthier life.

Here is the thing… I’m a mother and a wife and a wife.  As a mother and a wife, my children and husband come first, as a teacher my work second, then my home third, self last (and i’m not even sure i place fourth in my priorities).

There are a few things wrong with this I have realized

First of all my children and husband should NOT be first.  My relationship with God should be.  How can I be the wife and mother I desire to be without God front and center in my life?

Goal 1: To make my relationship, and therefore my devotional time, with God a priority.

Next, before I can be the mother and teacher I desire to be, I need to take better care of myself.  I am not a good example to my children or my students if I am not taking care of myself.  This also reflects on my husband.  No it’s not his fault, reflect and fault are different.

There is a stigma with being over weight.  People look at you and assume you’re lazy.  I’m overweight and I do not want people thinking I’m lazy simply because I cared more about everything else in my life than myself.  I do not want them thinking I’m lazy and looking at my husband and secretly pitying him because he doesn’t have a “good” wife.  Not everyone does, but I know there are people who do. When I worked at wal~mart as a cashier, people sometimes forgot you were human and could hear them and would talk about other people they saw in the store.  They’d look at an overweight woman in a motorized wheelchair with her husband walking by her and make comments like, “If she’d just get off her butt and walk she wouldn’t be that big and he wouldn’t have to be so embarrassed.” I would then find out later things like she was on medication that made her gain weight and would cause vertigo.  They didn’t know the couple, they didn’t know the story, and yet they would pass judgement on her and him based on what she looked like and nothing more.

 

Goal 2:  Make myself a priority so that I can be the best role model for my children and my students that I can be, and that I, in my appearance, I would bring a sense of honor and pride to my husband.

 

I need to accept my house will not be perfectly cleaned and organized.  My grandma did it so effortlessly, and I feel like i’m letting my family down by not having everything cleaned and in it’s placed.  If there is laundry, clutter, or any sort of mess I feel compelled to clean it or stressed if I don’t have the time to tackle it at that time.

Stress is becoming and issue.  A severe issue.  I went to the doctor yesterday for a sore throat and a cough and found out my blood pressure is currently 140/96.  That’s high.  I need to relax.  I have never learned how to relax.  I don’t know how to do nothing and I feel lazy if I do so.

Strangely enough, exercise would help blood pressure and stress and it’s one thing that I want to do that I struggle to find time for.

Goal 3: Make and effort to reduce stress in my life so that it will not compromise my health

As I go through this Bible study I am hoping that I will gain insight into how life a simpler life.  How to live a life that honors God and helps me to be a better version of myself so that I can be the person, wife, mother, and teacher I desire to be.

Shortly before I made plans to join this Bible study I was visited by another blogger and when I explored her blog I found it is all about this very subject.  I plan on spending more time combing through her archived posts and seeing what wisdom I can gleam from that, though my best source will always be God’s word.

 

For those interested here is her blog

Next week I hope to have more insights into this subject and may be posting sooner as I catch myself up  with the rest in the study.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Simple Italians
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 12:40:58

    Wow! Thanks for the link. I am both honored and humbled; and I really mean that! It will make me very happy if you find some help and encouragement for your journey. All I really do is post on what has helped me, but always remember that what works for one person may not work for the next. Find your own path. Learn from others, but find your own path. When you feel peace in your heart, then you know you’re on the right track. But if following any advice (mine or someone else’s) creates anxiety or tension, then maybe it’s not for you, or at least not at this time.

    We need to grow and stretch, because the Lord wants to change us. But never forget during this process to look up and watch for your loving Father’s smile. He doesn’t expect us to be perfect, and loves us no matter how much we fail or mess up! Just keep trying–with his help, we CAN do it!!

    Reply

  2. The Simple Italians
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 18:42:40

    Rhiannon, I thought I’d let you know that I changed both the title and the address of my blog, because simple living was too confining as a theme. It is no longer Simple Living ABC’s, but “Notes from an Italian Vineyard”. The address is http://thesimpleitalians.wordpress.com If you’d like, you can grab our ‘blog button’ to replace the one you had here (you’ll find it with the widgets).

    Our topics are now: Simple Living, Green Living, Christian Living, Make a Difference, Life in Italy (and Missionary Life), and Family Life.

    Sorry for any inconvenience! Keep the great posts coming! And have a blessed day.

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Nov 09, 2013 @ 00:42:20

      It’s okay. I’m about to completely revamp my plan for my blog, It feels too confining having things limited to certain days. I get a great Idea for a blog then feel I need to wait a week to post and then the inspiration has passed.

      Reply

      • The Simple Italians
        Nov 09, 2013 @ 07:46:36

        I know what you mean. I tried doing certain days for posts too, because it sounded like a great idea. But it was too confining. I’m learning (as I go) that less structured is what works for me. But being unstructured is a challenge for me, so it takes work. Now, does that make any sense? lol!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 501 other followers

What Has Been

