Knowing God

Devoprayer

 

Knowing God

Knowing God really isn’t as difficult as one might think. No, we can pick up the phone and have a conversation with him like we can our best friend.  But He has given us everything we need to know him.  

First of all He has given us His word, the Bible.  We can learn who he is through the scriptures.

Second, He gave us the Holy Spirit to help us interpret the scriptures as well as guide us.

Finally, We have prayer.

Prayer was always my struggle.  I always felt like I was talking to the floor.  I never knew what to say.  Hard to believe I didn’t know what to say, but it is how I felt.  Then I’d be asked to pray out loud and I found it more terrifying than giving an oral report at school.  What if I say the wrong thing? What if my prayer doesn’t make sense?  What if…

The what if thoughts would go on and on until I’d almost stutter through the whole prayer.  I actually hated praying.

Then someone explained it to me as talking to a friend.  So then how do you speak to God in reverence and still talk to Him as though you are talking to a friend?

This dilemma brings us full circle back to knowing God through the scriptures He has given us.

Here are some things to consider;

God never changes – Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow”.

I can trust in Him to be consistent.

God has perfect time – 2 Peter 3:9 “The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.”

Sometimes I would wonder what the point of prayer was when it felt like many times it wasn’t answered.  Then I started keeping a journal and I found out that many times my prayers were answered, just not when I wanted them to be, or in the way I expected them to be.  But it was always the best outcome. God knows what He’s doing and though we might not understand we can trust him to be faithful to answer.

Finally;

God is love – 1 John 4:8 “Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

God loves us. God loves us to the point that He died for us.  He did this so that we could be with him, sin isn’t allowed in heaven, that’s why Lucifer was cast out.  

‘The best part of the last two characteristics I mentioned is the first one.  God doesn’t change and we can count on his timing and his love no matter what the situation is.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: If You Look For More, God Promises That You Will Find More
  2. Trackback: Understanding and knowing God | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 502 other followers

What Has Been

