Meatfloat

I have been striving to come up with new and creative meals so that we are not eating the same dishes on repeat.  In our fridge I had cooked ground ham, and raw hamburg.  i mixed the meats, added Worcestershire sauce,soy sauce, two eggs, and crushed saltines.  Then I created meatballs. While they cooked I reduced stir fry sauce, barbecue sauce, and red cooking wine. 

Then I made the mistake of adding the sauce before I turned the meatballs over. This resulted in the decay of my meatballs.

Instead we got meatfloat….

What is a meatfloat? Well, this…

Image

 

Then the discussion turned to whether it was edible.

We ate it, we’re still not sure if it was edible.  We’ll find out when the local wildlife does or does not eat the left overs we provided for them….

Though dinner itself may have been a failure, we had more laughter tonight at dinner than we did the last time we watched a comedian on Netflix.

I wonder what’s for dinner tomorrow night…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Simple Italians
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 06:18:59

    Three cheers for your courage! Meaning, I’m not sure if I would have had it! Please do let us know if the wildlife eats or leaves it. And if they leave it, keep that in mind the next time! lol! It does sound as though you had a fun time, though!

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Oct 13, 2013 @ 05:21:21

      The animals did eat the meatfloat. I was afraid my husband would have trouble mowing the lawn if they didn’t. He said it was gone when he mowed, so something thought it was good. Really hoping this doesn’t mean I”m going find a black bear at our door (yes we have them, i know many who have almost hit them while driving).

      Reply

      • The Simple Italians
        Oct 13, 2013 @ 09:48:33

        Wow, you must really live out in the wild! Our region of Italy has wolves and bear, but mostly only up in the higher mountains. The scariest critters we have around us are wild boar, spiders, and scorpions. 😮
        But I am glad that something got dinner!

        By the way, your last name makes me wonder if your husband is of Italian descent. It’s the name of my husband’s hometown!

  2. Rhiannon
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 13:14:16

    Technically we live “in town” though the edge of the woods in our backyard is where the city limits end. We live in an area that is a lot of open farm land with little towns dispersed through out it.

    Even in town we still get deer. Bear happen but are not common. An occasional escaped cow can cause a problem on the roads connecting the little towns.

    Yes, my husband’s family is of Italian decent. I’m not sure if there is anything else in their mix. I know my family is a mix of Irish, Scottish, English, and Sicilian decent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 501 other followers

What Has Been

