Imperfection…

My patience, frustration, tongue, attitude, body… just a few of the things that need work.  Just a snippet of what I feel needs to change in my life.  And yet I feel as if I am getting nowhere.

God revealed a few things to me this week.

1.) There is too much I and not enough HIM.

The very first of the 10 Commandments says:

You shall have no other gods before me

~Exodus 20:3

That seems like a simple enough command.  I don’t worship a cow or a golden statue; I don’t pray to many gods… but do I put God first?  No.  I have realized this week that there are days God doesn’t even show up on my radar.  What makes it even more sad is that I teach Bible daily at a Christian school, and yet sometimes I don’t find time in my own life for God.

That means that other things in my life come before God, they have become my gods.  I don’t worship them as one would a golden statue, but when they take a place of greater importance than my Lord and Savior, then they become gods that I have put before HIM.

I need to begin recognizing these “gods” in my life and changing their place of importance.  They’re not necessarily something bad to have in my life, their position of importance needs to change.

2.) When HE is first in my life, everything else begins to fall into place.

Matthew 6:33

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

If you don’t believe me, try it. When God holds the position he deserves as first in our life everything else we encounter in a day, no matter how frustrating or involved seems to pass effortlessly.  That is the power of God.  He takes our imperfections and uses them to make great things happen.  Not because of who we are or what we can do, but because of who He is and what He can do.

3.) This journey of putting God first in my life needs to run throughout my whole Proverbs 31 challenge

God was center in the life of the Proverbs 31 woman.  I can’t focus on my faith and my relationship with God during just one month of this challenge.  If at any point I stop putting God first everything else I try will be in my power and will fail and I will not be where I want to be at the end of this journey.

Prayer for my Journey

Heavenly Father;

Draw me close to you. Search my heart and show me the things that have become my gods.  Help me to put you first so that I can become the woman, wife, and mother you have created me to be.

I thank you that you loved me enough to die for me; that you have given me the chance to grow closer to you despite my sin and imperfections.  Thank you for using my imperfections in ways that I never could.

In Jesus name

Amen

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 503 other followers

What Has Been

