The Proverbs 31 Woman

There are a lot of things in my life that I don’t like, and they all start with me.

I am not happy with my commitment to my relationship with God

I do not feel as though I am engaged enough with my children.

I don’t like my attitude most day and most of that comes from the unnecessary stress I place on myself trying to reach a perfect I know i can never truly reach.

Many times I feel as though I am letting my family down by not being what I feel I should be.

I have spent the past couple of months praying over this and reading my Bible and other books.  Proverbs 31:10-31 has become an inspiration to me, but the woman depicted in Proverbs 31 looked so daunting to try to imitate .

Then I found a book ……

My So-Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife

I finished reading this book and thought, ‘I should do something like that’.  And as I continue to pray over how I have been feeling I’m thinking that is exactly what I need to do.  I need to look at the virtues of a Proverbs 31 woman and try to change the things in my life that I am not happy with.

I want to be a better wife, a better mother, a healthier woman, a stronger woman, a happy woman.  I know that doing this will please God, and being in the will of God will always make me feel better because no matter what life is like, there is always a peace that comes with being in the will of God.

So, here is where I stand… over the next 10 months I am going to focus on a single virtue each month (though I will continue with the one from the month before).  I know I will not be perfect, but any progress in bettering myself is my ultimate goal.

I may not do them in the order listed, but I will eventually get to them all.

Let’s see where God takes me!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mudasarbhati
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 06:41:37

    Reblogged this on mudasarbhati and commented:
    i like it very much you are too nice and beautiful

    Reply

  2. iyassantos
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 08:01:37

    hi! greetings from manila! i dont remember how i ended up reading your blog but this entry surely has blessed me. sometimes, when i am reminded of the virtuous of a godly woman, i am discouraged because i feel that i will never measure up! but then God always reminds me that He is there equipping me with the lessons I need to become what He has called me to be. when He called us, He definitely gave us ways on how to be worthy of that calling.

    cheers to always being encouraged in becoming a the proverbs 31 woman! cheers to a victorious life with God!

    =)

    xoxo
    iya

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Sep 24, 2013 @ 04:41:59

      Iya, I’m glad you found my blog! I love meeting new people.

      I have finally come to grips with the fact that I will never measure up to God’s standards, but as I learn to submit to God’s authority and will that He will create in me what I can not create in myself.

      I know this whole journey is going to be more of a lesson in learning to let go, mostly of my perfectionism. But I need to follow where God leads me. That’s really all any of us can do.

      Reply

  3. kellycable
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 01:58:01

    Totally Love it. I think we can focus on beating ourselves up instead of the reason as to why God is pointing these things out to us in the first place. I don’t think He shows us areas in need of improvement so that we hate ourselves, but so that we can begin a new journey with Him as He shows us why these areas are a problem and how He wants to guide us through change. It’s His love that is our guide, not our guilt. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Building Up our Families | Simple Living ABC's
  5. Beth McGaughey
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 10:45:11

    I finally have gotten around to visit your blog! How do you find time to do this along with work, two young kids and all? I think it’s wonderful you are doing this~I follow several Christian women’s blogs and I will be adding yours to my list! I love to write, but have no idea how to get started!
    Beth

    Reply

    • Rhiannon
      Oct 21, 2013 @ 21:01:42

      Writing is an outlet for me. One of the few ways I can actually relax. Sometimes it’s too personal and I put it in my journal, but stuff that I don’t have an issue sharing I just put on here. I write what I’m thinking. Many times if you were to ask me what I just wrote about after blogging I can’t tell you, I don’t remember without reading what I wrote.

      Reply

  6. Trackback: Building Up our Families | Our Heart's Vineyard
  7. Trackback: Building Up our Families | Notes from an Italian Missionary

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 503 other followers

What Has Been

