God in the Middle

Image

 

Only one month after moving from Pennsylvania to Louisiana, I met Mike.  We met online, on Facebook actually.  We had some mutual friends and when one of his friends who happened to be a friend of mine as well, liked my blog post, he saw it on her feed. He commented and we started talking. My last relationship had been my daughter’s biological father whose response to me telling him I was pregnant was to tell me he’d been seeing his ex and that he wanted to get back together with her. I haven’t seen or heard from him since. I chose not to look for relationships after that.  I had a child to focus on and the pain wasn’t worth the effort. While I had been out of a relationship for going on two years, Mike had been single for close to six. After breaking up with his college girlfriend he had had the same epiphany that i did. it wasn’t worth the effort to look for a relationship, that it just made more sense to let whatever happens happen.

 

We started talking in September of 2010, and in October/November sometime he came to visit the two of us.  Alayna took to him immediately, I did too. And our relationship began.  

 

One thing that was always a part of our relationship was prayer.  He lived in Pennsylvania and I lived in Louisiana, We talked on the phone every night and we always ended our conversations with a prayer.  We often prayed for guidance, that if this was not the relationship that God wanted for either of us that he would close the door to it. We prayed this prayer right up to our wedding day.

 

We still pray together, it is a vital part of our relationship. Recently Mike has begun praying for God to guide our relationship again. I’ll be honest, i was freaked out the first time he did that.  My type A perfectionist personality started analyzing every little thing I’ve been doing and wondering what i’m doing wrong to make him think we need guidance. Then I heard a song on the radio.  I listen to Klove Christian Radio.  The song is Restore by Chris August.  The song is about a married couple who learn the best way to maintain their marriage is to keep God in the middle of it all.  And then my husbands prayer makes sense.  It’s not that either of us is doing anything wrong, it’s that the work doesn’t stop with the wedding vows. Reality sets in and you realize that you need God even more in the marriage than you needed Him in the courtship.

 

I love my husband, and am so thankful that while my mind is stuck on day to day life and baby preparations that he is concerned with maintaining the spiritual health of this household.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holistic Wayfarer
    May 15, 2013 @ 22:42:31

    What a lovely smile you have. The closer we move toward him (envision Him at the pinnacle of a triangle), the closer we go toward each other (from the base corners).

    A wedding of our own:
    http://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/dance-and-marriage-metaphors/

    Reply

  2. Minister Gertrude Ferguson - Founder & CEO- Enough Tribulations
    May 16, 2013 @ 03:41:17

    God bless you both, as you lean not to your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will always continue to direct your paths.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 502 other followers

What Has Been

